Menu

BAND MEMBERS

Alexey Melnik (guitar)

Sergey Melnik (guitar)

Kate Mizu (vocals)

Beginnings

SOULCODE band was set in as a collaborative work of two brothers – Alexey (Samm) Melnik and Sergey Melnik - in early 2000s in a Moscow satellite town Pushkino. Their father planted love for the great Deep Purple in his sons, so this fabulous band stood at the origins of Melnik brothers’ music tastes but then their preferences became essentially diverse. They included a large scale of music genres and bands starting from Swedish death metal and doom metal artists to Russian alternative rock scene. All of this inspired guys to start playing guitars, compose their own music, experimenting with sound and searching for like-minded people. From the very beginning of their own songs creation Samm and Sergey decided unanimously that female vocal is exactly what the band should have.

“Our 2007”

November 2007 is believed to be the official date of SOULCODE rock band foundation. It is the time when the band started to rehearse in Moscow regularly and en masse. Considerable musicians passed through the band during its formation and only its founders remained permanent members. Further appearance of a bass-guitar player Denis (Den) Filatov contributed greatly to formation of the band’s massive sound and he entered the backbone of SOULCODE for a long haul. Longed-for appearance of female singer Yana (Evi) Rykalova, using clean vocals as well as scream technique, and drummer Ivan Pronin applied the finishing touch to the band’s creation.  SOULCODE started making their collective content, new music was born and sharp lyrics of the singer Yana appeared (mostly in Russian language but with some experiments in English). During this time SOULCODE determined its music style as alternative rock with a savour of old-school and intense female vocals. The band with such membership started intensively playing concerts in clubs of Moscow.

SOULCODE 2008 - 2013

The band made a demo recording called “The First Step” in Spring 2008. The demo included 6 tracks (they are still can be found in the internet and available for listening). Afterwards SOULCODE presented a promo video for the song “Fly” (in Russian - “Leti”) from the demo record, at the moment this video got over 21 thousand views on YouTube.
In March 2010 a new drummer Kyrill (Bender) Nechaev succeeded Ivan Pronin, who contributed much to the band and its development and left it in November 2009. However, later in 2010 SOULCODE took creative reprieve in a search of new ideas and new kinds of sound. The band changed its guitars tuning as well as the sound concept in general.
In 2013 SOULCODE broke the silence by releasing a new experimental track named “Join” presenting its new sound. This track was recorded in cooperation with session singer Efim Kolitinov (and the first time in its history the band used male vocals) and session drummer Dmitriy Bourdin. Song lyrics was written in English entirely by Efim Kolitinov. This historical recording appeared to make a great contribution for the band to find a new lease of life and attract new participants.

SOULCODE 2014 – till now

In February 2014 Olga Dolgopolova, female drum player, joined the band, as well as female singer Kate Mizu in March of the same year. The band started making a brand new musical content with more interesting and compound rhythms and harmonies, lyrics concept changed as well and English became the standard for new songs. That year SOULCODE proceed to new music recording in studio with the following membership: Alexey Melnik (guitars), Sergey Melnik (guitars), Denis Filatov (bass), Olga Dolgopolova (drums), Kate Mizu (vocals).The recording went by separate phases and four new instrumental tracks (including the updated version of “Join”) with a new sound appeared after first sessions. When it came to vocals the recording was put on hold for technical reasons. A while later the band made a decision to record a full album instead of making a one more short demo, it meant that recordings of more 5-7 tracks lay ahead. SOULCODE resumed working upon the current musical content arrangements.

2015 turned to be one more year of changes for SOULCODE particularly as regarded its membership. One of the band’s constant members - bass-guitar player Denis (Den) Filatov - leaves it on personal grounds. It was a tough decision for everyone and afterwards the band appeared to be a kind of stiff-limbed for a while: rehearsing some songs without complete rhythm section turned to be almost impractical and pointless while search of a new bass player lingered on. In September 2015 drummer Olga Dolgopolova leaves the band as well for a reason of an overfull activity at her central musical project. The rest of the band decided to redirect and concentrate all attention at studio recordings work instead of live rehearsals. SOULCODE had taken a new lease of life since a new bass-player Vitali Andreev (“Britva Okkama” (i.e. Occam's razor), FOOD FOR FISH) appeared in the band. He agreed to help with studio recordings with an opportunity to join the band later as its member. A session drummer Daniil Oplachkin took part in recording of some of the tracks.
After the hard year the band took a time-out for a winter vocation.

Keep up with further news in the NEWS section on this website!

Меню

Состав

Алексей Мельник (гитара)

Сергей Мельник (гитара)

Катя Мидзу (вокал)

Истоки

Группа SOULCODE зародилась в начале 2000-х годов в подмосковном г.Пушкино в результате совместного творчества двух братьев – Алексея (Samm’а) Мельника и Сергея Мельника. У истоков музыкальных вкусов обоих стояли великие Deep Purple, любовь к которым ребятам прививал отец, но дальше музыкальные предпочтения братьев стали существенно отличаться и включили в себя широкий диапазон стилей и групп от шведского death-метала и doom-метала до русской альтернативы. Все это вдохновило ребят взяться за гитары, начать активно экспериментировать со звуком и искать единомышленников. С самого начала создания собственного материала Samm и Сергей однозначно решают, что группе необходим именно женский вокал.

«Наш 2007-й»

Официально датой образования группы SOULCODE принято считать ноябрь 2007 года. Это момент, когда бэнд приступает к стабильной работе на репетициях в Москве в своем полном составе. В процессе формирования состава через группу проходит немалое количество музыкантов, неизменно в ней остаются лишь основатели. Дальнейшее появление басиста Дениса (Den’а) Филатова закладывает прочную основу мощного звука бэнда, Den надолго входит в костяк группы. Заключительным этапом рождения SOULCODE становится долгожданное появление яркой вокалистки Яны (Evi) Рыкаловой (поющей как чистым вокалом, так и скримом) и барабанщика Ивана Пронина. Начинается плотная работа над совместным материалом, рождаются новая музыка и пронизывающая лирика вокалистки Яны (преимущественно на русском языке, с экспериментами на английском). В этот период SOULCODE определяет свой стиль как альтернативный рок с примесью олдскула и динамичным женским вокалом. В этом составе группа начинает активно давать концерты в клубах Москвы.

SOULCODE 2008 - 2013

Весной 2008 года группа записывает демо «Первый шаг», состоящее из 6-ти треков, которые и сейчас можно найти и послушать на просторах Интернета. Чуть позднее было создано промо-видео на песню «Лети», вошедшую в демо (к настоящему моменту видео набрало более 21 тысячи просмотров на YouTube).
В ноябре 2009 года барабанщик Иван Пронин, внёсший в группу неоценимый вклад, покидает ее. В марте 2010 г. ему на смену приходит новый ударник - Кирилл (Bender) Нечаев. Однако, в том же году коллектив уходит во внеплановый творческий отпуск для поиска новых идей и нового звучания. Меняется как строй гитар, так и концепция звука в целом.
В 2013 году SOULCODE прерывает свое молчание и выпускает мощный экспериментальный трек Join, презентуя свой новый звук. Трек записывается с сессионным вокалистом Ефимом Колитиновым (SOULCODE впервые использует мужской вокал в своем материале) и сессионным барабанщиком Дмитрием Бурдиным. Лирика песни написана Ефимом полностью на английском. Эта историческая запись помогает группе обрести второе дыхание и привлечь новых участников в коллектив.

SOULCODE 2014 – по настоящий день

В феврале 2014 г. к группе присоединяется барабанщица Ольга Долгополова, в марте – вокалистка Катя Мидзу. Нарабатывается совершенно новый материал, появляются более интересные и сложные ритмы и гармонии, меняется концепция текстов, лирика целиком пишется на английском. В том же году группа в составе Алексея Мельника (гитара), Сергея Мельника (гитара), Дениса Филатова (Бас), Ольги Долгополовой (барабаны) и Кати Мидзу (вокал) приступают к работе в студии над новыми треками. Запись происходит отдельными этапами, и после первых сессий появляется четыре инструментальных трека с новым звуком (в числе которых – новая версия ранее записанной Join). На стадии записи вокала работа по техническим причинам приостанавливается. Позже принимается решении о записи полноценного альбома, а не просто нового демо, в студии предстоит отписать ещё 5-7 треков, работа над аранжировками текущего материала продолжилась.

2015 г. вновь становится годом перемен для SOULCODE, что коснулось, в первую очередь состава. По личным причинам группу покидает один из уже постоянных участников – басист Den Филатов. Это решение всем дается нелегко, после этого группа на время остается слегка обездвиженной: репетиции некоторых песен без полной ритм-секции оказываются практически бессмысленными, поиск нового полноценного участника на место басиста затянулся. В сентябре 2015 г. барабанщица Ольга также покидает группу в связи с плотной занятостью в своём основном проекте. Оставшиеся участники решают переместить акцент с репетиций на работу в студии. Новое дыхание в процесс принесло появление басиста Виталия Андреева («Бритва Оккама», FOOD FOR FISH), который согласился поучаствовать в процессе записи с последующей перспективой стать постоянным участником бэнда. В записи некоторых треков сессионно принимает участие барабанщик Даниил Оплачкин.

Ждите обновлений в разделе НОВОСТИ!